Page tree

This page has not yet been translated to English.

Skip to end of banner
Go to start of banner
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

 

 

 

  • To work with the "User Editor," create and connect a user directory (database for user management) with the GridVis software (cf. "Create New User Editor").
  • The GridVis administrator has to set up the access rights for other users with the corresponding roles and rights. To do this, the GridVis administrator uses the "User Editor."
  • In the "User Editor" window, the GridVis administrator (or another user with an equivalent authorization) can complete, configure or delete other users who want to access a project that is protected with user management.
  • In the "User Editor" window, the accesses corresponding to the role (rights) for the user appear; e.g. a user with the role "READ_ONLY" will only see his own access.

Fig.: "Open User Editor" button in "User Management" submenu

The "User Editor" window can be opened in 2 ways:

  1. In the"User Management Overview" window in step 2 "Set Up User," click on the "Open User Editor" button or
  2. click on the "Open User Editor" button in the submenu "User Management" of the menu bar entry "Window" (see figure in the upper right).

 

Fig.: "User Editor" window in the GridVis software user interface

 

If in the "User Editor" window, the message "Please log in first to use the User Editor" appears,log in as follows:

  1. In the"User Management Overview" window under the user actions, click on the "Log In" button or
  2. click on the "Log In" button in the submenu "User Management" of the menu bar entry "Window" (see figure on the right).
  • The dialog box "Log In to the User Directory"will appear.

Fig.: "Log In" button in the "User Management" submenu

  • If no users have been created or if only the GridVis administrator "admin" is available, then enter into the input field the user name "admin" (preset) and the password issued for administrative work inside of GridVis as the password (cf. "Create New User Directory").
  • An error message will appear if the use name and/or the password don’t match or if the user does not have the rights. Check what you have entered or contact the GridVis administrator.
  • After you have successfully logged in, the "User Editor" window will appear, showing a table of all users (depending on your authorization).

Fig.: "Log In to the User Directory" window

 

 SymbolFunctionDescription
1"New User"
  • Click for "New User" to appear in the column "User Name"with the status"New."
  • Single-click to mark the user name "User Name" and enter a new name. Confirm the entry with the "Return Key."
2"Delete User"
  • Single-clicking changes the "Status" of the marked user to the mode "Delete."
  • Single-click on the button "Discard Changes" to set the status of the marked user back to "Unchanged" after confirming through a dialog box.
  • Only once the button "Save" ("Save" changes) has been activated, is the previously marked user (Status: "Delete") permanently deleted from the database system.
3"Save"
  • One click saves all of the changes to the users (Status = "New" or "Changed") in the database.
  • After saving, the status is switched to "Unchanged."
4"Discard Changes"
  • A single click discards unsaved changes to a user (status = "New" or "Changed").

Example:
For newly created users, the status is preset to "New." As long as you do not protect the entry by using the "Save" button, the "Discard Changes" button will delete all users with the status of "New (also deletes unsaved changes)!

5"User name"Column "User Name"
  • Click on the user name to mark the user name. The marked user name can be changed.
  • The status of the user switches to "New" or "Changed."
  • Deactivate your user name changes by clicking on the "Discard Changes" button.
  • Activate your user name changes by clicking on the "Save" button.
6"Password"Column "Password"
  • To assign a password to a user, click on the "..." button at the end of the field. In the following dialog box, enter the password and confirm by re-entering it. Confirm in the dialog box with "OK."
  • The status of the user switches to "Changed."
  • Deactivate the password changes by clicking on the "Discard Changes" button.
  • Activate your password changes by clicking on the "Save" button.
7"Roles"Column "Roles"
  • To assign roles to a user, click on the "..." button at the end of the field. Activate the checkbox for the desired "Role" of the user in the following dialog box. Confirm in the dialog box with "OK."
  • The status of the user switches to "Changed."
  • Deactivate the role changes by clicking on the "Discard Changes" button.
  • Activate your role changes by clicking on the button "Save" button.
8"State"Column "Status"

This field shows the status of a user:

  • "New" - When registering a new user (user name), the status switches to "New."
  • "Changed" -After changes to the user name, password or role, the status switches to "Changed."
  • "Unchanged" - The user data are unchanged.
  • Clicking on the button "Discard Changes" discards changes to users with the status "New" or "Changed ."
  • Clicking on the "Save" button accepts changes to users with the status "New" or "Changed ."
9"Exception"Column "Exception"This field shows errors.

 


 

 

Software: GridVis 7

V 1.0

Related links

  • No labels